top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Mc Donough

Does Aloe Vera Really Work?

Updated: Jan 21, 2020

"Natural. Botanical. Cosmeceutical"


Quick recap:


A month ago I talked about a new discovery of mine, Grace Cosmetics (Link here). Grace Cosmetics is an all natural cosmeceutical skincare, rich in organically grown aloe vera (ALOIN FREE) and natural and botanical bio-active ingredients. Proudly Australian made and has over 30 years experience.


I was given these two products to try based on my skin condition being oily to normal, and to combat early signs of aging such as wrinkles and pigmentation.



After a month of using these products, here are my thoughts...


Infiniti Facial Scrub with AHAs


Infiniti Facial Scrub with AHAs comes in a 60ml tube bottle and is suitable for all skin types, except acne-prone skin. Main purpose is to gently remove dead skin cells and unclog pores while improving skin's clarity and radiance with the help of age-defying natural AHAs. Apart from organically grown Aloe Vera, I did my due diligence and listed down the rest of trademarked ingredients.


Ingredients include:


- Geranium- Diminishes the appearance of the symptoms of aging, such as sagging and wrinkling skin.

- Sugarcane Extract- Gycolic acid that is naturally present in sugar cane removes dead skin cells, dirt and oil that can clog pores.

- Grapefruit Extract- Rich in antioxidants and vitamins. Increases the PH of the skin.

- Apple Fruit Extract- Rich in antioxidants like Vit C and natural acids. Has many skin care benefits for oily, dull and sagging skin.

- Rice Bran Wax- Helps preserve moisture of the skin, protects skin from UV light and increases skin's elasticity

- Papaya Fruit Extract- Effective, nonabrasive exfoliant. Helps remove impurities and dead skin cells.

- Coconut Extract- Helps diminish the appearance of acne scars.


My Thoughts:

The best thing about this scrub is that it doesn't contain synthetic abrasive micro beads made of plastic or chemicals that can be harmful to our skin and our environment. Most of us are aware that the synthetic granules, which can be found in most face and body cleansers are so small they bypass waste-water filtration systems and end up polluting our natural waterways.


Thankfully, we can help remedy the problem without sacrificing our skin and our environment. How? by using and supporting brands/products that uses natural alternatives. Grace Cosmetics Infinity Facial Scrub uses tree bark as a natural exfoliant and it is actually better at exfoliating than those micro beads because it is gentle and cleanses skin without stripping away moisture. It imparts a healthy glow and a cooling sensation after rinsing off and leaves a refreshing feel behind.


This cleanser has this delicate fruity smell. I've heard others complain about this but I love it. Also, since only a little amount is needed for each use, the product would go a long way.


Reverse Wrinkle Serum


Reverse Wrinkle Serum comes in a classy 300ml bottle with a pump dispenser. As the name suggests, this ultra light milky serum promises to reveal firmer, brighter skin and to reduce wrinkles by up to 51%. It is great for all skin types (I am a combination of oily to normal skin).


Other Ingredients:


- Glycolift- Helps provide an instant smooth action to the skin and provides anti-pollution properties.

- Gatuline Intense- a natural active ingredient that acts on the skin's natural lifting properties, for a firmer skin with significantly reduced wrinkles.

- IBR-Dormin- captures and transform flower bulbs dormancy and beauty to the skin.

- IBR-Snowflake- Increases skin's natural defense; enhances Super Oxide Dismutase (SOD) production in the skin cell to protect the skin from Oxidative damage. Anti wrinkle and relaxes muscles.

- Vitamins A, C, E and pro- vitamin B5 (I think we all know the benefits of these vitamins so I would not elaborate further)

- Sunflower Oil- has anti-inflammatory properties that help lower skin redness and roughness.

- Witch Hazel- fights acne, shrinks pores and reduce inflammation.

- Orange Sweet- increases the ability to absorb Vit C, collagen production and blood flow, all of which are essential for anti aging.

- Geranium- diminishes the appearance of of the symptoms of aging, such as sagging and wrinkling skin.

- Ylang-ylang- reduces inflammation, diminishes the appearance of scars.


Thoughts:

The serum's consistency is runny but rich so you don’t need much to cover your entire face. It feels sticky at first application but once it gets absorbed by the skin it'll feel light and comfortable. The fragrance is also mild and refreshing and imparts a cooling effect as well. The very thing that impressed me about this serum is its ability to minimize the appearance of lines and pigmentation. I have a slight pigmentation on my nose and I notice it clearing up (no joke!), I also have visible laugh lines and they too are slowly diminishing. Amazing!



Final Thoughts:

Over all, I am so impressed with these products and I can’t wait to discover more from Grace Cosmetics. I started using these a month ago, the cleanser I use both day and night, the serum I use in the morning together with my regular morning skin care products and I am very satisfied with the results. This pair keeps my skin hydrated, reduces pigmentation, and brightens up my skin.


"With continuous use, I am hoping it'll heal my face from all the impurities, revealing a more youthful appearance. "



Price:

Lets just put it this way, based on my experience when you are trying to combat a specific anti-aging problem, the expensive products always does the trick better. So if you are looking to improve your skin, these products might just be worth it.



Lastly:

My thoughts are based on my personal experience and honest opinion. Some products may have been sent to me, but I make sure to try them out first before doing a review. Finding the perfect skin care products is a trial and error process. We have to remember that when it comes to skin care products, there is a no-size-fits-all. What works for me, may not work for you. If you have ultra sensitive skin, you might wanna do a patch test first (say 3days) to make sure you are not allergic to them. Better safe than sorry.



If you want to give these product a try, you can purchase them here (link)


Goodnight, loves!!!


BARE FACE


77 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page